Fulton County

Fulton County was created from DeKalb County in 1853, then obtained its strange, elongated shape by absorbing the destitute counties of Milton (to the north) and Campbell (to the south) during the Great Depression. It is named for Robert Fulton, inventor of the steam-driven boat. Atlanta, the county seat and state capital, grew from being the terminal point on an early railroad; it was first named Terminus. Later the name was changed to Marthasville as a compliment to Governor Wilson Lumpkin's daughter.

Contact Information

Address 141 Pryor Street SW, Suite 10076, Atlanta GA 30303
Telephone 404.612.8232
Fax 404.730.8254
Website http://www.fultoncountyga.gov

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Fulton County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 1014932 (State Rank: 1)
Incorporated Millage Rage
Unincorporated Millage Rate
County Bond
School Maintenance/Operations
School Bond
Total Incorporated
Total Unincorporated


County Officials