Habersham County

Habersham County was created in 1818 from Cherokee Indian lands. White County was later given part of Habersham's territory. It is named for President George Washington's postmaster general and mayor of Savannah, Major Joseph Habersham. Clarkesville, the county seat, is named for Georgia Governor John Clarke.

Contact Information

Address 555 Monroe Street, Unit 20, Clarkesville GA 30523
Telephone 706.754.3912
Fax 706.754.1014
Website http://www.co.habersham.ga.us

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Habersham County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 43056 (State Rank: 46)
Incorporated Millage Rage 7.76
Unincorporated Millage Rate 7.76
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 13.35
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 21.11
Total Unincorporated 21.11


County Officials