Irwin County

Irwin County began as a large territory ceded by the Creek Indians in 1818, but was divided into 10 counties: Worth, Tift, Ben Hill, Colquitt, Cook, Berrien, Lowndes, Brooks and Thomas counties plus parts of Turner, Wilcox, Lanier, Echols, Coffee and Atkinson counties. It bears the name of Governor Jared Irwin who helped expose the infamous Yazoo Fraud, a land scheme. Ocilla is the present county seat, although earlier that distinction belonged to Irwinville where Confederate President Jefferson Davis was captured by Union Troops.

Contact Information

Address 207 South Irwin Avenue, Suite 2, Ocilla GA 31774
Telephone 229.468.9441
Fax 229.468.9672

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Irwin County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 10231 (State Rank: 128)
Incorporated Millage Rage 12.376
Unincorporated Millage Rate 12.376
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 15.69
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 28.066
Total Unincorporated 28.066


County Officials