Monroe County

Monroe County was created from Creek Indian lands in 1821 and later divided to make Pike, Lamar and part of Spalding, Butts, Upson and Bibb counties. It is named for James Monroe, fifth U. S. president. Forsyth, the county seat, is named for John Forsyth who as minister to Spain negotiated the purchase of Florida in 1819.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 189, Forsyth GA 31029
Telephone 478.994.7000
Fax 478.994.7294

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Monroe County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 25252 (State Rank: 71)
Incorporated Millage Rage 9.431
Unincorporated Millage Rate 9.431
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 13.7
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 23.131
Total Unincorporated 23.131


County Officials