Morgan County

Morgan County was designated in 1807, an original land lot county. It is named for General Daniel Morgan who had served with Benedict Arnold's expedition to Quebec in 1775, commanded riflemen at Saratoga in 1777, and defeated the British at Cowpens in 1781. Madison, the county seat, is named for James Madison, fourth presi­dent. Congressman Joshua Hill of Madison had been one of the few Southerners to decline voting for secession in 186I. Unpopular as his decision was, it resulted in General Sherman's sparing the town during his destructive March to the Sea.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 168, Madison GA 30650-0168
Telephone 706.342.0725
Fax 706.343.6450

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Morgan County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 18491 (State Rank: 91)
Incorporated Millage Rage 8.178
Unincorporated Millage Rate 8.178
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 12.461
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 20.639
Total Unincorporated 20.639


County Officials