Murray County

Murray County was drawn from Cherokee County in 1832 and subse­quently gave up lands to form the counties of Whitfield, Walker, Catoosa, Dade and part of Chattooga. Is it named for Thomas Walton Murray, a lawyer and state legislator who served as speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives. The first county seat was Spring Place, but in 1912 Chatsworth was designated the seat of government. This county had been the center of Cherokee Indian culture, home of Chief James Vann and site of a Moravian mission among the Cherokee.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 1129, Chatsworth GA 30705-1129
Telephone 706.517.1400 307
Fax 706.695.8721

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Murray County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 40304 (State Rank: 50)
Incorporated Millage Rage 6.014
Unincorporated Millage Rate 5.8
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 15.5
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 21.514
Total Unincorporated 21.3


County Officials