Spalding County

Spalding County was created in 1851 taking its territory from Fayette, Henry and Pike counties. It is named for Thomas Spalding of Frederica who was the first Georgian known to have harvested cotton and cane successfully. He also served in the state legislature, in Congress and was a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1798. Griffin, the county seat, is named for L. L. Griffin, first president of the Monroe Railroad, later the Central of Georgia.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 1087, Griffin GA 30224
Telephone 770.467.4224
Fax 770.467.4227

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Spalding County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 63913 (State Rank: 35)
Incorporated Millage Rage 14.88
Unincorporated Millage Rate 14.88
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 18.8
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 33.68
Total Unincorporated 33.68


County Officials