Union County

Union County was designated in 1832 from original Cherokee County territory. Fannin and Towns counties were to be carved from it later. John Thomas, the area's representative in the state legislature, named it Union "because none but union-like men reside in it," he said. Indeed, the county and its neighbors remained staunchly Unionist throughout the secession controversy and the Civil War.

Contact Information

Address 65 Courthouse Street, Blairsville GA 30512
Telephone 706.439.6000
Fax 706.439.6004
Website http://www.unioncountyga.gov

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Union County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 21351 (State Rank: 85)
Incorporated Millage Rage 4.94
Unincorporated Millage Rate 4.94
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 9.398
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 14.338
Total Unincorporated 14.338


County Officials