Bacon County

Bacon County is named for Augustus O. Bacon, a U. S. senator four terms and a specialist on Mexican affairs. It was created in 1914 from parts of Appling, Pierce and Ware counties. Alma, the county seat, is named for no one. Its name was derived from the first letters of the four cities that had served as Georgia state capitals: Augusta, Louisville, Milledgeville and Atlanta.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 356, Alma GA 31510
Telephone 912.632.5214
Fax 912.632.2757

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Bacon County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 10442 (State Rank: 124)
Incorporated Millage Rage 13.988
Unincorporated Millage Rate 13.988
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 14.5
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 28.488
Total Unincorporated 28.488


County Officials