Bibb County

Bibb County was created in 1822 to accommodate the town of Macon which had sprung up across the Ocmulgee River from the frontier post known as Fort Hawkins. Houston, Jones, Monroe and Twiggs counties gave up territory to create Bibb which takes its name from a distin­guished Georgian, Dr. William Wyatt Bibb. He was Alabama's first elected Governor. Macon bears the name of a North Carolinian, Nathaniel Macon.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 4708, Macon GA 31208
Telephone 478.621.6345
Fax 478.621.6329

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Bibb County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 155216 (State Rank: 13)
Incorporated Millage Rage
Unincorporated Millage Rate
County Bond
School Maintenance/Operations
School Bond
Total Incorporated
Total Unincorporated


County Officials