Clayton County

Clayton County was designated in 1858 from land previous part of Fayette and Henry counties. It is named for Judge Augustin S. Clayton, a congressman from Georgia who won popularity for his opposition to tariffs. The county seat had been called Leaksville until arrival of the rail line. It was renamed "Jonesboro" for one of the railroad surveyors who won favor with the local leaders.

Contact Information

Address 112 Smith Street, Jonesboro GA 30236
Telephone 770.477.4550
Fax 770.477.3217

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Clayton County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 273718 (State Rank: 5)
Incorporated Millage Rage 11.436
Unincorporated Millage Rate 11.436
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 20
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 31.436
Total Unincorporated 31.436


County Officials