Dawson County

Dawson County was created by taking land from Gilmer, Lumpkin and Forsyth counties in 1857. Originally it was part of the Cherokee Nation which was "given" to Georgia through a dubious treaty. Dawson County and its county seat of Dawsonville bear the name of Judge William C. Dawson. He compiled the laws of Georgia and commanded a brigade in the Creek Wars of 1836. He served in both houses of the state legislature, then in the U. S. Congress prior to the Civil War.

Contact Information

Address 25 Justice Way, Suite 2313, Dawsonville GA 30534
Telephone 706.344.3501
Fax 706.344.3889
Website http://www.dawsoncounty.org

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Dawson County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 22006 (State Rank: 82)
Incorporated Millage Rage 8.138
Unincorporated Millage Rate 8.138
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 13.646
School Bond 0.4
Total Incorporated 22.184
Total Unincorporated 22.184


County Officials