Georgetown-Quitman County

Quitman County was made up of land taken from Randolph and Stewart counties in 1858. Its name honors General John A. Quitman, a Mexican War leader and Governor of Mississippi. Georgetown, the county seat, is named for the city in the District of Columbia of the same name. Originally it was known as Tobanana and had been established in the 1830s.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 114, Georgetown GA 39854
Telephone 229.334.0903
Fax 229.334.2151

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Georgetown-Quitman County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 2703 (State Rank: 157)
Incorporated Millage Rage 12.44
Unincorporated Millage Rate 12.44
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 13.75
School Bond 2
Total Incorporated 28.19
Total Unincorporated 28.19


County Officials