Rabun County

Rabun County at the northeast corner of Georgia was acquired form cession of Cherokee lands in 1819. It is named for Governor William Rabun, the state's 11th governor who served only two years before his death. He is best remembered for opposing General Andrew Jackson over destruction of a Creek Indian village in what is now Lee County. Clayton, the county seat, was named for Judge Augustin S. Clayton.

Contact Information

Address 25 Courthouse Square, Suite 201, Clayton GA 30525
Telephone 706.782.5271
Fax 706.782.7588
Website http://rabuncounty.ga.gov

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Rabun County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 16514 (State Rank: 100)
Incorporated Millage Rage 8.54
Unincorporated Millage Rate 8.16
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 8.916
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 17.456
Total Unincorporated 17.076


County Officials