Walker County

Walker County originated in 1833, drawn from the original Cherokee County and part of Murray County. It is named for Major Freeman Walker of Augusta, a lawyer and U. S. senator. LaFayette, the county seat, was first known by its Indian name, Chattooga, but was renamed to honor the Marquis de LaFayette. The town was the site of a fort built in 1835 to hold Cherokee people until their forced removal west.

Contact Information

Address P.O. Box 445, LaFayette GA 30728
Telephone 706.638.1437
Fax 706.638.1453
Website http://www.walkerga.us

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Walker County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 64799 (State Rank: 33)
Incorporated Millage Rage 6.761
Unincorporated Millage Rate 4.418
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 17.404
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 24.165
Total Unincorporated 21.822


County Officials