Walton County

Walton County is an original landlot county designated in 1818 and named for George Walton, signer of the Declaration of Independence. Born in Virginia, he came to Savannah to study law. He was twice governor of Georgia and a U. S. senator in 1795. The county seat, Monroe, was settled as early as the county was formed from Cherokee Indian lands and named for James Monroe, fifth president.

Contact Information

Address 303 South Hammond Drive, Suite 330, Monroe GA 30655-0585
Telephone 770.267.1301
Fax 770.267.1400
Website http://www.waltoncountyga.gov

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Walton County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 85813 (State Rank: 28)
Incorporated Millage Rage 41.575
Unincorporated Millage Rate 10.882
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 18.25
School Bond 2.2
Total Incorporated 62.025
Total Unincorporated 31.332


County Officials