Call for Nominations: 2018 ACCG Awards & Recognition Program

ACCG is now accepting nominations until March 2, 2018 for the 2018 ACCG Awards & Recognition Program which serves as a way to recognize the individuals who provide outstanding contributions to their local community. The ACCG Leadership Awards are the highest honors given to elected or appointed county officials or other individuals who have made significant contributions through public service in local government and other involvement within the community and/or the state level. 


Emory Greene Leadership Award

The Emory Greene Leadership Award, the highest award presented by the Association County Commissioners of Georgia, recognizes one elected county commissioner who best exemplifies outstanding commitment to his community and state.

Jerry R. Griffin Leadership Award

The Jerry R. Griffin Excellence in Public Service Award was created to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to the citizens of the state of Georgia through public service in county government. The Award recognizes an appointed county staff member or another individual who has had a lasting impact through county government public service and/or in his or her community.

(Download: 2018 Awards Overview | Nomination Form ) 

**The Emory Greene and Jerry Griffin Award Applications may also be submitted via the Online Nomination Form

Youth Leadership Award

The Youth Leadership of the Year Award was created to recognize up-and-coming young leaders who represent ACCG's passion for community and excellence. The Award recognizes someone who has an understanding of what skills effective leaders possess and has made an impact at school and in the community.

 (Download: Youth Leadership Nomination Form)



County Clerk of the Year Award

While the responsibilities of the clerks vary from county to county, these individuals play an integral role in supporting elected and appointed officials and fulfilling many of the day-to-day responsibilities of county government.  Each year, the Georgia County Clerks Association selects a county clerk to receive the honor of County Clerk of the Year.  This award recognizes outstanding performance and professionalism in government as performed by the county clerk. 

**To apply, fill out the form (below) for the Clerk Award and submit to the Georgia County Clerks’ Association awards selection committee – see the clerks’ application for details.

(Download: 2018 Clerk of the Year Nomination Form)



Nominations for all awards must be submitted no later than Friday, March 2, 2018 by 5 p.m. Once forms are completed, they can be mailed to the ACCG office, emailed to ACCG Communications Specialist Nicole Butler at, or submitted via the online formClerk of the Year nominations must be submitted to the Georgia County Clerks’ Association awards selection committee – see the clerks’ application for details. 

As an alternative to the traditional paper application, counties can submit a video nomination for this year’s awards. Video nominations may include more than one person in the county office of the nominee and must still answer the questions on the nomination form. For example, this method may be used if several people in a county commissioner’s office have testimonials about efforts the nominee has made to improve their community. Videos must be no longer than five minutes in length and can be submitted via the online application or as an email attachment.