Gilmer County

Gilmer County was part of the original Cherokee County, then divided to form Fannin, Dawson and Pickens counties. It is named for George Rockingham Gilmer, a state legislator, member of Congress and twice governor of Georgia. The county seat, Ellijay, grew on the site of a Cherokee village of the same name meaning "green earth."

Contact Information

Address 1 Broad Street, Ellijay GA 30540-9045
Telephone 706.635.4361
Fax 706.635.4359

County Data

Snapshot County Snapshot from the GA Dept. of Community Affairs
Census Gilmer County Census Data from U.S. Census
Other Data Sets County QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Georgia Encyclopedia County Page from The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Wages & Salaries Local Government Wage and Salary Survey from DCA
Labor Market Georgia Labor Market Explorer & Analysis
Sales Tax Sales and Property Tax Rates from DOR
Hotel/Motel Tax Hotel/Motel Tax Report from DCA

Statistics and Rates

2008 Population 28537 (State Rank: 61)
Incorporated Millage Rage 5
Unincorporated Millage Rate 5
County Bond 0
School Maintenance/Operations 16.25
School Bond 0
Total Incorporated 21.25
Total Unincorporated 21.25


County Officials